Special Event Guest Speakers

Special Event Guest Speakers

  • 2023 -  Deputy Prime Minister Vital Kamerhe Lwa Kanyiginyi Nkingi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • 2022 - Benjamin Sekano, General Manager, Ivanplats Mine: Mokopane
  • 2021 - The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada
  • 2020 - Honourable Mary Ng, Canadian Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and Trade Development
  • 2019 - His Excellency Tom Thabane, Prime Minister of Lesotho
  • 2018 - Honourable Jim Carr, Canadian Minister of Trade Diversification
  • 2017 - Dr. Akinwumi Adesina, President, African Development Bank
  • 2016 - His Excellency Demeke Mekonnen, Deputy Prime Minister, Federal Republic of Ethiopia
  • 2015 - Judge Albie Sachs, retired South African Constitutional Court Judge
  • 2014 - Special Meeting with Mildred Oliphant, Deputy President, Republic of South Africa regarding best practices in South Africa's mining industry 
  • 2013 - Kgalema Motlanthe, Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa 

Indaba Keynote Speakers

  • 2024 - Joe Lombard, Vice Chair, Hatch
  • 2019 - Dr. Patricia Makhesha Managing Director of Ivanhoe's Platreef Project 
  • 2018 - Steve Letwin, President and Chief Executive Officer, IAMGOLD Corporation
  • 2017 - Wale Adeosun, Founder, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Investment Officer, Kuramo Capital Management
  • 2016 - H.E. Fatima Haram Acyl, Commissioner, DTI, African Union Commission

  • 2015 - Trueman Goba, Chair, Hatch Goba Limited, South Africa

  • 2014 - Charles Sirois, Chair, CIBC, Chair, Telesystem Ltd., Founder of Tandem Expansion Fund, Board Member, Rogers Communications, Founding Partner and Chair, Enablis Engrepreneurial Network

  • 2013 - Robert Friedland, Executive Chairman and Founder, Ivanplats Limited

  • 2012 - Sir Rupert Soames, Group Chief Executive, Aggreko

  • 2011 - Bobby Godsell, Past Chairman, ESKOM Holdings and past Chief Executive Officer, AngloGold Ashanti Limited

  • 2010 - Greg Hawkins, Chief Executive Officer, African Barrick Gold

  • 2009 - Mark Bristow, President and Chief Executive Officer, Randgold Resources Limited

  • 2008 - Warren Newfield, Chief Executive Officer & Co-Chairman, CIC Energy Corp., and Founder, Chairman, Tau Capital Corp.

  • 2007 - Patrick Lamarre, President and Chief Executive Officer, SNC Lavalin Nuclear, President, SNC Lavalin Power Ontario, and President, SNC Lavalin Engineers & Constructors

  • 2006 - Arthur Mashiatshidi, Chief Executive, Decorum Capital Partners, New African Mining Fund

  • 2005 - Richard Molyneux, President and Chief Executive Officer, De Beers Canada

  • 2004 - Derek Cooper, Chairman, Standard Bank

  • 2003 - Cyril Ramaphosa, Chairman, Millennium Consolidated Investments

  • 2002 - Nicky Oppenheimer, Chairman, De Beers

Annual Mining Breakfast Previous Speakers

  • 2024 - Peter Marrone, Chairman and CEO, Allied Gold
  • 2023 - Marna Cloete, President at Ivanhoe Mines Ltd.
  • 2022 - Clive Johnson, President and CEO, B2gold Corp
  • 2021 - Gordon Stothart, President and Chief Executive Officer, IAMGOLD Corporation
  • 2020 - Mark Bristow, President and CEO at Barrick Gold
  • 2019 - Harry Anagnostaras-Adams, Managing Director, KEFI Minerals plc.
  • 2018 -The Hon. Abubakar Bawa Bwari, Minister of State for Mines and Steel Development, Republic of Nigeria and Rod Quick, Group General Manager, Evaluation, Randgold Resources
  • 2017 - Issa Dominique Konate, Special Advisor to the President, Republic of Burkina Faso and John Dorward, Chief Executive Officer, Roxgold Inc.
  • 2016 - Sipho Pityana, Chairman of AngloGold Ashanti - Keynote Speaker and Godfrey Oliphant, Deputy Minister of Mineral Resources, Republic of South Africa, and Frank Mugyenyi, Senior Industry Advisor, African Union Commission (AUC)
  • 2015 - Ngoako Ramathlodi, South Africa's Minister of Mineral Resources and Paul Brink, Senior Vice President, Business Development, Franco-Nevada Corporation
  • 2014 - Right Honorable Dr Hage Gottfried Geingob, Prime Minister, Republic of Namibia, Stephen Masele, Deputy Minister, Energy & Minerals, Republic of Tanzania and Clive Johnson, President & Chief Executive Officer, B2Gold Corp
  • 2013 - Godfrey Oliphant, Deputy Minister of Mines, South Africa and Robert Friedland, Executive Chairman and Founder, Ivanplats Limited
  • 2012 - Dr. Gabi Schneider, Director, Namibian Geological Survey and Inge Zaamwani, Managing Director, Namdeb
  • 2011 - Susan Shabangu, South African Minister of Mineral Resources and R. Michael Jones, President and Chief Executive Officer, Platinum Group Metals Ltd.
  • 2010 - Anthony Andrews, Executive Director, Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) and Simon Village, Chairman, Banro Corporation
  • 2009 - Gordon Miller, Chief Executive Officer, First Uranium Corporation and Simmer and Jack Mines Limited and Hon. P.H.K. Kedikilwe, Minister of Minerals, Energy and Water Resources for Botswana
  • 2008 - Peter Kinver, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Barrick Gold Corporation
  • 2007 - Buyelwa Sonjica, Minister: Minerals and Energy, Republic of South Africa and Bridgette Radebe, President, South African Mining Development Association and Executive Chairperson, Mmakau Mining
  • 2006 - Lulu Xingwana, South African Deputy Minister of Minerals and Energy and Rick Menell, President & CEO, Teal Mining & Exploration and Deputy Chairman, African Rainbow Minerals
  • 2005 - Richard Duffy, Executive, New Business Development, AngloGold Ashanti and Abe Mngomezulu, Deputy Director General, South African Department of Minerals and Energy
  • 2004 - Patrick Evans, President and CEO, SouthernEra Resources
  • 2003 - Ian Cockerill, President, Goldfields and  Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, South African Minister of Minerals and Energy
  • 2002 - Susan Shabangu, South African Deputy Minister of Minerals and Energy
  • 2001 - Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, South African Minister of Minerals and Energy
  • 2000 - Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, South African Minister of Minerals and Energy

Previous Business Person of the Year Award Winners (sponsored by Hatch)

  • 2015 - Wayne Floreani, Vice-President, MineAfrica 
  • 2013 - Robert Francki, Global Managing Director, Project Delivery Group, Hatch
  • 2012 - Firdosh Bulsara, General Manager, MyEscapades
  • 2011 - Ronald W. Thiessen, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hunter Dickinson Inc. Chairman, Great Basin Gold Ltd., Past Director, Past President and Chief Executive Officer, Anooraq Resources Corporation
  • 2010 - Laurel Keenan, Canadian Director, Wines of South Africa and President, Propeller Communications
  • 2009 - David Creighton, Chief Executive Officer, Cordiant Capital
  • 2008 - Ronald  Nolan, Past Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Hatch and Chairman, N-Solv Corporation
  • 2007 - Jossef Pikulak, Director of International Trade & Development, Global Fresh Imports & Export, a division of Tom Lange Company Inc.
  • 2006 - Robert Franklin, Past Chairman, Placer Dome
Close (esc)

Watch Africa Accelerating 2021

Three days of leading speakers and cutting-edge insights. From Heads of State and global CEOs to innovative SMEs, export opportunities and much more, it all took place from 26 to 28 October

View the Latest Highlights

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now